Add Layers to Images to Create New

Have you hunted high and low for the perfect image to use? Besides trying to photograph the image there are many options with varying levels of complexity that can be taken. I lean towards simple, yet with a small bit of complexity.next

 

My last post, “Intro to #CLMOOC” used a bunch of images in a collage and
accented with thumbtacks (to create a more defined area for additional information to pop. I used picmonkey.com (an online image editor) Collage and Overlays.

In Collage view, import your images. I decided on using an Andy Warhol effect (done by first individually editing the original image of paths with a variety of EFFECTS).

overlay_cropped

When you select EDIT COLLAGE, you return to the original picmonkey view. Select Overlay for choices. Since I preferred my own thumbtack image, I chose OWN. (Be aware that you need to use png files so they can be layered without showing any of those white box areas you normally would get using a jpg file.

 

 

The final image looks like this, which can be downloaded.path_4square_ed

However, while this may be fairly simple, I prefer to add a few more skills without making it onerous. This doesn’t even require access to the internet. Rather than looking for png graphics, why not make them yourself? Then you can be really flexible especially if the images are of simple shapes, like a thumbtack.

This process uses paint.NET (a simpler version of photoshop), which can be downloaded for free and MS Word. (AAAhh, I can foresee these images in powerpoints or a host of other venues…)
Click here for the instructions. We’ve done this with elementary students and they’ve been really successful.

2 thoughts on “Add Layers to Images to Create New

  1. Great how to! I really appreciated the tutorial on layering images, as well. Hadn’t used paint.NET before and found it super simple and very useful. I have a fine arts background, with little formal instruction in technology (I went through six years of college without ever using a desktop computer), but I love picking up stuff from people who know more than I do.

    1. Thanks Jennifer. I always think there’s a balance between simple and making things too easy. I’ve used all of these for both staffs and students at all levels. I love your writing on your site. Makes a real connection.

Please Leave a Comment

