Remixing and the Learning Process

The truth has come out. I’m a terrible risk-taker. I’ve been able to drop into the Making Learning MOOC (#clmooc) a few times to soak in the creative energy of a group of amazing people.  There are several remixes using Thimble (Mozilla) that showed powerful messages. Now I’m wondering about the connection between remixes and creativity  – how the process of remixing can help see a different experience.  Or even the notion of ‘remixing’ as new creation.  So in I dove only to find early confusion and frustration. Result? I quit. Then I saw Kevin’s remix and I tried again – this time with a plan by matching the code line by line.  Persistence paid off after multiple trials.

Here’s my remix of a remixed remix.  https://beyondtech.makes.org/thimble/summer-crafting

remix

What I learned is that my overall  success depended on getting a little comfortable with the tool before having a message to share. More importantly I needed immediate success to move forward. OK, not DaVinci success – just enough to make a foothold. Then I looked to the community with their multiple examples [not all at once] to fuel both ideas and persistence over time. The process has lifted concepts such as attachment, trust, community and timely stepped success. I have a new way of looking at the learning process, which is going to change the way I craft professional learning in September.

2 thoughts on “Remixing and the Learning Process

  1. Yes! I don’t know if you saw this chart (http://teachthought.com/technology/the-right-and-wrong-way-to-use-technology-for-learning/) circulated recently about the role of technology in learning, but I didn’t like the dichotomy presented there for much the same reason that you mention here– the need to play in low stakes makes to develop comfort with particular tools. Making Thimbles, for example, might be part and parcel of raising awareness about an open web and building our capacity to own it. But if I don’t know how Thimble works, if I haven’t played with it and tried to break it, sometimes with nothing left to show, then how would I know how to use it to change minds or make a difference? And I think we can discover purpose through play, particularly shared purposes– when we can embrace “open” and our own vulnerabilities enough to share frustrations and failures in community. Thank you for writing, sharing, and nicely articulating some of what I’ve been thinking about trying tools in a community encourages production.

    1. Hi Stephanie.
      Thank you so much for your thoughts. Yes I have seen the image and post. While I understand the basic premise, I struggled with the “technology is a tool…” I think that technology is much more than just a tool. A tool offers some folks the opportunity to avoid the “tool” as they can always use a pencil. I haven’t found a word that describes these forms of learning but they are in essence different from we’ve ever had. It is bigger than forum or learning spaces or resources or even collaborative creative endeavours. I also know that comfort or levels of discomfort places us in vulnerable positions as you say. Brene Brown goes into this in Daring Greatly.

      I deeply appreciate your comments and have more to think about purpose, play and sharing communities.

Please Leave a Comment

